Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Eberle and Nugent-Hopkins Could Both Bring Home Some Hardware

When the National Hockey League announced Jordan Eberle as a finalist for the Lady Byng Trophy yesterday afternoon, he joined teammate Ryan Nugent-Hopkins as the second Edmonton Oilers player to be nominated for a major season ending award. With RNH having already been announced for the Calder Trophy as the NHL's Rookie of the Year, it marked the first time two Oiler players have been up for major year end awards, in the same season, since1988. Which was the final season that Wayne Gretzky would be in an Oilers uniform. That season the Great One was in the running for both the Hart and Lady Byng trophies. While goaltender Grant Fuhr was nominated for the Vezina Trophy as the league's top netminder, as well as the Hart Trophy alongside Gretzky and eventual winner, Mario Lemieux.