Thursday, June 21, 2012

Oilers Nugent-Hopkins and Eberle fall short at the NHL Awards

Considering this was the first time two Edmonton Oilers had been nominated for a major NHL award in the same season since 1988, one can't be to disappointed with the fact that both Ryan Nugent-Hopkins and Jordan Eberle fell just short of bringing home some hardware from the NHL Awards on Wednesday night. Eberle finished a close second to Florida defenceman Brian Campbell, who took home the Lady Byng. While RNH fell short in his bid to become the first Edmonton Oiler to win the Calder Trophy as the league's top rookie, losing out to Colorado Avalanche rookie Gabriel Landeskog.

Eberle was coming off a season in which he led the Oilers in nearly every offensive category. His thirty-four goal, seventy-six point campaign left him in a tie for fifteenth in league scoring, while collecting only ten minutes in penalties on the year. Unfortunately, Campbell had a comeback season of sorts after being traded to the Panthers, putting up fifty-three points and taking only six minutes in penalties on the season.

Lady Byng Voting Results - Totals  (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)

   1.                     Brian Campbell, FLA   582   (31-22-13-15-8)
   2.                     Jordan Eberle, EDM    518   (18-23-23-17-11)
   3.                     Matt Moulson, NYI     517   (13-28-26-15-16)
   4.                     Loui Eriksson, DAL    448   (21-12-20-13-15)

As far as Nugent-Hopkins goes, it was no real surprise that Landeskog took home the Calder but the fact he did in such a landslide was rather shocking. The Avs youngster received 116 first place votes, compared to only 26 for RNH. Considering nearly everyone was in agreement that the Nuge would have made a mockery of the race, if he had not missed twenty games due to a shoulder injury, the margin of victory was ratehr startling. New Jersey Devils playoff hero Adam Henrique and Philadelphia's Matt Read rounded out the top four, of what was clearly a two horse race.

Calder Trophy Voting Results - Totals (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)

   1.                          Gabriel Landeskog, COL 1,383 (116-29-4-0-0)
   2.                          Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, EDM     1,001 (26-83-22-16-2)
   3.                          Adam Henrique, N.J.    620   (3-19-59-50-12)
   4.                          Matt Read, PHI   546   (3-17-45-51-19)

Other notable winners on the night included Pittsburgh Penguins centre Evgeni Malkin taking home the Hart Trophy as the league MVP, to go with the Art Ross he had won as the NHL's leading scorer. Ottawa Senators defenceman Erik Karlsson narrowly edged out Nashville Predators blueliner Shea Weber for the Norris Trophy as the league's top defenceman. New York Rangers goaltender Henrik Lundqvist won his first Vezina Trophy as the top netminder, beating out Conn Smythe winner and Los Angeles Kings MVP Jonathan Quick for the honours. St. Louis Blues bench boss Ken Hitchcock, easily out distanced the Rangers John Tortorella and Otttawa's Paul MacLean for the Jack Adams Award as the coach of the year.

No comments:

Post a comment